Sep 27, 2020  
2013-2014 University Catalog 
    
2013-2014 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacy Administration


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Philadelphia College of Pharmacy

Mission

The mission of the department of pharmacy practice and pharmacy administration is to educate students, develop professionals and leaders, and perform innovative research and service in the practice and administration of pharmacy to advance the profession.

Optimal drug therapy can improve a patient’s quality of life by curing or slowing the disease process, eliminating or reducing the disease symptoms, or preventing the disease or its symptoms. Assuming responsibility for a patient’s drug therapy in order to achieve these goals is termed “pharmaceutical care.” Through their understanding of drug actions and disease state management and the professional standards of pharmacy practice, doctor of pharmacy graduates will be able to collaborate with other healthcare professionals to ensure optimal drug therapy for all patients.

The department is dedicated to continually improving drug therapy and pharmaceutical care through the discovery, application, and dissemination of knowledge about drugs and drug use. Faculty members maintain a balance of teaching, advising, research, and service to the profession and to society. Innovative approaches to teaching emphasize problem solving and utilize state-of-the-art technology both in the classroom and in real patient care and other professional environments. The pharmacy practice and pharmacy administration curricula focus on enabling students to integrate knowledge of the biosciences, drugs, and diseases with that of social and administrative sciences in order to develop the requisite skills for ethical and effective contemporary pharmacy practice, or similar applications in the healthcare industry, and to stimulate a commitment to lifelong learning and service.

To facilitate their progression into the pharmacy administration graduate program, undergraduates may take graduate-level courses with permission of the graduate course instructors.

Pharmacy Practice

Description

Drug therapy is integral to both the prevention and treatment of diseases. Thousands of prescription and nonprescription drugs are available in the United States with more new drugs licensed every year. Advances in science and technology continuously lead to more complex drug entities. Although many drugs have a very positive impact on disease states, they also have the potential to be very toxic. Today, more than ever before, pharmacists play a crucial role in drug therapy management—collaborating with physicians, nurses, and other health professionals to ensure that every patient experiences a positive response without serious toxicity.

Innovative and expanded curricula in pharmacy schools prepare graduates to solve difficult therapeutic problems, prevent adverse drug effects, avoid medication errors and drug interactions, and ensure the integrity of pharmaceutical products. Pharmacists work with individual patients to educate them about their medications. Pharmacists are also responsible for monitoring patients for both desirable therapeutic effects and undesirable toxic effects, screening for health problems, assisting patients in the selection of over-the-counter medications, and answering medication and general healthcare-related questions. Many pharmacists also develop focused expertise in specialty areas such as geriatrics, pediatrics, nutrition, or cardiology. Others apply their expertise in pharmacotherapeutics to planning for the pharmaceutical care of large populations. Advanced academic degree programs available to pharmacists at USciences include graduate study leading to master’s degrees in business administration, public health, or biomedical writing, master of science degrees, or doctor of philosophy degrees.

Faculty

Does not include adjunct faculty.
A list is available from the department chair.

Bruce R. Canaday
BS (Purdue); PharmD (Tennessee)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacy Administration
Phone: 215.596.8744
E-mail: b.canaday@usciences.edu

Jessica Adams
PharmD (Albany)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8759
E-mail: j.adams@usciences.edu

Heidi M. Anderson
BS, MS, PhD (Purdue)
Professor of Pharmacy
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs
Phone: 215.596.8866
E-mail: h.anderson@usciences.edu

Angela Bingham
PharmD (South Carolina)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7241
E-mail: a.bingham@usciences.edu

Laura Bio
PharmD (Rutgers)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8703
E-mail: l.bio@usciences.edu

Leona Blustein
PharmD (Albany)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Program Director, Industry Residency
Phone: 215.596.7214
E-mail: l.blustein@usciences.edu

Jane Bowen
PharmD (Rutgers)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7120
E-mail: j.bowen@usciences.edu

Shawn J. Boyle
BS, PharmD (University of the Sciences in Philadelphia)
Instructor of Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8707
E-mail: s.boyle@usciences.edu

Michael J. Cawley
BS, PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.895.3136
E-mail: m.cawley@usciences.edu

John E. Connors
BS (Wisconsin); PharmD (Kentucky)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Associate Provost, Special Projects and Global Initiatives
Phone: 215.596.8973
E-mail: j.connor@usciences.edu

Lisa Charneski
PharmD (Wilkes)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7218
E-mail: l.charneski@usciences.edu

Lisa E. Davis
BS (Arizona); PharmD (Kentucky)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8831
E-mail: l.davis@usciences.edu

Samantha Decker
PharmD (University of the Sciences)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7122
E-mail: s.decker@usciences.edu

George E. Downs
BS (New Mexico); PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Dean Emeritus, Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8868
E-mail: g.downs@usciences.edu

Gladys M. Garcia Dueñas
PharmD (St. John’s University College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8687
E-mail: g.duenas@usciences.edu

Grace Earl
BS, PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8940
E-mail: g.earl@usciences.edu

Stacy Elder
BS, PharmD (North Carolina)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8745
E-mail: s.elder@usciences.edu

Benjamin Ereshefsky
BS (U Chicago); PharmD (U Texas)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7121
E-mail: b.ereshefsky@usciences.edu

Valerie Ganetsky
PharmD (Temple)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7215
E-mail: v.ganetsky@usciences.edu

John A. Gans
BS, PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy
and Science)
Professor of Pharmacy
Associate Dean, Professional Relations, Philadelphia College of PHarmacy
Phone: 215.596.7471
E-mail: j.gans@usciences.edu

Jomy M. George
PharmD (University of the Sciences)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8867
E-mail: j.george@usciences.edu

Philip P. Gerbino
BS, PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Linwood F. Tice Professor
E-mail: pgerbino@usciences.edu

Amisha Grover
BS, PharmD (Northeastern)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7123
E-mail: a.grover@usciences.edu

Diane Hadley
PharmD (Wilkes)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7124
E-mail: d.hadley@usciences.edu

Daniel A. Hussar
BS, MS, PhD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Remington Professor of Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8880
E-mail: d.hussar@usciences.edu

Katherine Koffer
BS (Pittsburgh); PharmD (PCPS)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7243
E-mail: k.koffer@usciences.edu

Lisa A. Lawson
BS (Nebraska); PharmD (Kentucky) 
Barbara H. Korberly Professor in Women’s Leadership and Health
Dean, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8870
E-mail: l.lawson@usciences.edu

Alice Lim
PharmD (Rutgers)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7125
E-mail: a.lim@usciences.edu

Laura A. Mandos
BS (Ohio Northern); PharmD (Northeastern)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Associate Dean, Student Affairs and Admissions, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy
Director, BS Program in Pharmaceutical and Healthcare Studies
Phone: 215.596.8585
E-mail: l.mandos@usciences.edu

William F. McGhan
PharmD (UCSF); PhD (Minnesota)
Professor of Pharmacy
Director, Graduate Program in Pharmacy Administration
Phone: 215.596.8852
E-mail: w.mcghan@usciences.edu

Karleen Melody
BS, PharmD (Pittsburgh)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7208
E-mail: k.melody@usciences.edu

Thomas W. O’Connor
BS, PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science); MBA (Babson College)
Associate Professor of Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8578
E-mail: t.oconnor@usciences.edu

Shelley Otsuka
PharmD (Southern Illinois)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7207
E-mail: s.otsuka@usciences.edu

Andrew M. Peterson
BS (Rutgers); PharmD (Medical College of Virginia); PhD (University of the Sciences)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Interim Dean, Mayes College of Healthcare Business and Policy
Phone: 215.596.8877
E-mail: a.peters@usciences.edu

Cathy Y. Poon
BS (St. John’s); PharmD (Medical University of South Carolina)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Vice Dean, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8889
E-mail: c.poon@usciences.edu

Jennifer A. Reinhold
BA (Albright College); PharmD (University of the Sciences)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8743
E-mail: j.reinhold@usciences.edu

Jean M. Scholtz
BS (University of Pittsburgh); PharmD (Purdue University)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Vice Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacy Administration
Phone: 215.596.8524
E-mail: j.scholt@usciences.edu

Henry Schwartz
BS (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science); PharmD (Shenandoah)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Director, Community Pharmacy Experiences
Phone: 215.596.8688
E-mail: h.schwartz@usciences.edu

Sanchita Sen
PharmD (Temple)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7216
E-mail: s.sen@usciences.edu

Valerie Shafir
PharmD (Temple)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7215
E-mail: v.shafir@usciences.edu

Steven L. Sheaffer
BS, PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Vice Chair, Experiential Learning, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacy Administration
Phone: 215.596.8773
E-mail: s.sheaff@usciences.edu

Gary Sloskey
BS, PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Associate Professor of Pharmacy  
Phone: 215.596.8749
E-mail: g.sloske@usciences.edu

Michael Smith
BS, PharmD (University of Pittsburgh)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.546.7246
E-mail: mic.smith@usciences@edu

Sarah A. Spinler
BS, PharmD (Minnesota)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Director, Residency and Fellowship Programs
Phone: 215.596.8576
E-mail: s.spinle@usciences.edu

Tyan S. Thomas
BS (Morgan State); PharmD (Maryland)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8991
E-mail: t.thomas@usciences.edu

Karen J. Tietze
BS (Kansas); PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Director, PCP Honors Program
Phone: 215.596.8854
E-mail: k.tietze@usciences.edu

Trent G. Towne
BA (Hanover College); PharmD (Purdue University)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8738
E-mail: t.towne@usciences.edu

Radha S. Vanmali
PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7209
E-mail: r.vanmali@usciences.edu

Vincent J. Willey
BS, PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy)
Associate Professor of Pharmacy
Vice Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacy Administration
Phone: 215.596.8933
E-mail: v.willey@usciences.edu

Experiential Supervisors

Scott D. Greene
Experiential Field Supervisor
Director of StEPP Program
Phone: 610.804.1310
E-mail: s.greene@usciences.edu

Matthew Land
Experiential Field Supervisor
Phone: 215.596.8986
E-mail: m.land@usciences.edu

Sondra Schultz
Experiential Field Supervisor
Phone: 215.596.8884
E-mail: s.schultz@usciences.edu

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Philadelphia College of Pharmacy