Skip to Navigation
    University of the Sciences in Philadelphia
   
 
  Dec 14, 2017
 
 
    
2017-2018 University Catalog

Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacy Administration


Return to Philadelphia College of Pharmacy Return to: Philadelphia College of Pharmacy

Mission

The mission of the department of pharmacy practice and pharmacy administration is to educate students, develop professionals and leaders, and perform innovative research and service in the practice and administration of pharmacy to advance the profession.

Optimal drug therapy can improve a patient’s quality of life by curing or slowing the disease process, eliminating or reducing the disease symptoms, or preventing the disease or its symptoms. Assuming responsibility for a patient’s drug therapy in order to achieve these goals is termed “pharmaceutical care.” Through their understanding of drug actions and disease state management and the professional standards of pharmacy practice, doctor of pharmacy graduates will be able to collaborate with other healthcare professionals to ensure optimal drug therapy for all patients.

The department is dedicated to continually improving drug therapy and pharmaceutical care through the discovery, application, and dissemination of knowledge about drugs and drug use. Faculty members maintain a balance of teaching, advising, research, and service to the profession and to society. Innovative approaches to teaching emphasize problem solving and utilize state-of-the-art technology both in the classroom and in real patient care and other professional environments. The pharmacy practice and pharmacy administration curricula focus on enabling students to integrate knowledge of the biosciences, drugs, and diseases with that of social and administrative sciences in order to develop the requisite skills for ethical and effective contemporary pharmacy practice, or similar applications in the healthcare industry, and to stimulate a commitment to lifelong learning and service.

To facilitate their progression into the pharmacy administration graduate program, undergraduates may take graduate-level courses with permission of the graduate course instructors.

Pharmacy Practice

Description

Drug therapy is integral to both the prevention and treatment of diseases. Thousands of prescription and nonprescription drugs are available in the United States with more new drugs licensed every year. Advances in science and technology continuously lead to more complex drug entities. Although many drugs have a very positive impact on disease states, they also have the potential to be very toxic. Today, more than ever before, pharmacists play a crucial role in drug therapy management—collaborating with physicians, nurses, and other health professionals to ensure that every patient experiences a positive response without serious toxicity.

Innovative and expanded curricula in pharmacy schools prepare graduates to solve difficult therapeutic problems, prevent adverse drug effects, avoid medication errors and drug interactions, and ensure the integrity of pharmaceutical products. Pharmacists work with individual patients to educate them about their medications. Pharmacists are also responsible for monitoring patients for both desirable therapeutic effects and undesirable toxic effects, screening for health problems, assisting patients in the selection of over-the-counter medications, and answering medication and general healthcare-related questions. Many pharmacists also develop focused expertise in specialty areas such as geriatrics, pediatrics, nutrition, or cardiology. Others apply their expertise in pharmacotherapeutics to planning for the pharmaceutical care of large populations. Advanced academic degree programs available to pharmacists at USciences include graduate study leading to master’s degrees in business administration, public health, or biomedical writing, master of science degrees, or doctor of philosophy degrees.

Faculty

Does not include adjunct faculty.
A list is available from the department chair.

Cathy Y. Poon
BS (St. John’s University); PharmD (Medical University of South Carolina)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacy Administration
Associate Dean, Interprofessional Education 
Phone: 215.596.8889
E-mail: c.poon@usciences.edu

Jessica Adams
PharmD (Albany College of Pharmacy)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8759
E-mail: j.adams@usciences.edu

Danielle M. Alm
PharmD (Rutgers University)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7246
E-mail: d.alm@usciences.edu

Angela Bingham
PharmD (University of South Carolina)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7241
E-mail: a.bingham@usciences.edu

Jane Bowen
PharmD (Rutgers University)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7120
E-mail: j.bowen@usciences.edu

Michael J. Cawley
BS, PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.895.3136
E-mail: m.cawley@usciences.edu

Lisa Charneski
PharmD (Wilkes University)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7218
E-mail: l.charneski@usciences.edu

Brooklyn Cobb 
PharmD (Hampton University)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8578
E-mail: b.cobb@usciences.edu

John E. Connors
BS (University of Wisconsin); PharmD (University of Kentucky)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Associate Provost, Academic Affairs 
Phone: 215.596.8973
E-mail: j.connor@usciences.edu

Ryan D’Angelo
PharmD (Ferris State University)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8752
E-mail: r.dangelo@usciences.edu

Justin Delic
PharmD (Duquesne University)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7214
E-mail: j.delic@usciences.edu

George E. Downs
BS (University of New Mexico); PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Dean Emeritus, Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8868
E-mail: g.downs@usciences.edu

Grace Earl
BS, PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8940
E-mail: g.earl@usciences.edu

Tyan Frazier  
PharmD (University of Maryland, Baltimore)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8991
E-mail: t.frazier@usciences.edu

Valerie Ganetsky
PharmD (Temple University)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7215
E-mail: v.ganetsky@usciences.edu

Islam Ghazi
BS (Alexandria University); PharmD (University of Florida)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7121
E-mail: i.ghazi@usciences.edu

Scott D. Greene
BS (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science); MS (University of the Sciences)
Instructor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8998
E-mail: s.greene@usciences.edu

Diane Hadley
PharmD (Wilkes University)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7124
E-mail: d.hadley@usciences.edu

James Hollands
PharmD (Wilkes University)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Vice Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacy Administration
Phone: 215.596.8882
E-mail: j.hollands@usciences.edu

Daniel A. Hussar
BS, MS, PhD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Remington Professor of Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8880
E-mail: d.hussar@usciences.edu

Yardlee Kauffman
PharmD, MPH (University of Pittsburgh)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8933
E-mail: y.kauffman@usciences.edu

Madeline King
BA (University of Texas, Austin); PharmD (Texas A&M University)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8831
E-mail: m.king@usciences.edu

Katherine Koffer
BS (University of Pittsburgh); PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7243
E-mail: k.koffer@usciences.edu

Hilary D. Mandler
BS (University of Pittsburgh); PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Director, Industry Fellowships  
Phone: 215.596.8868
E-mail: g.downs@usciences.edu

Laura A. Mandos
BS (Ohio Northern University); PharmD (Northeastern University)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Associate Dean, Student Affairs and Admissions, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy
Director, BS Program in Pharmaceutical and Healthcare Studies
Phone: 215.596.8585
E-mail: l.mandos@usciences.edu

Thaddeus McGiness​
BS (Saginaw Valley State University); PharmD (University of Tennessee, Memphis/Knoxville)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: Phone: 215.596.8867
E-mail: t.mcginess@usciences.edu

Karleen T. Melody
BS, PharmD (University of Pittsburgh)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7208
E-mail: k.melody@usciences.edu

Shelley Otsuka
PharmD (Southern Illinois University)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7207
E-mail: s.otsuka@usciences.edu

Nicholas Owens
PharmD (University of Pittsburgh)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7123
E-mail: n.owens@usciences.edu

Andrew M. Peterson
BS (Rutgers University); PharmD (Medical College of Virginia); PhD (University of the Sciences)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
The John Wyeth Dean, Mayes College of Healthcare Business and Policy
Phone: 215.596.8877
E-mail: a.peters@usciences.edu

Yvonne L. Phan
BS (University of California, Los Angeles); PharmD (Nova Southeastern University)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7246
E-mail: y.phan@usciences.edu

Charrell Porter
BS, PharmD (Virginia Commonwealth University)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7123
E-mail: c.porter@usciences.edu

Jennifer A. Reinhold
BA (Albright College); PharmD (University of the Sciences)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8743
E-mail: j.reinhold@usciences.edu

Alice L. Scaletta 
PharmD (Rutgers University)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7125
E-mail: a.scaletta@usciences.edu

Jean M. Scholtz
BS (University of Pittsburgh); PharmD (Purdue University)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Vice Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacy Administration
Phone: 215.596.8524
E-mail: j.scholt@usciences.edu

Nicole Schroeder
PharmD (University of the Sciences)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8703
E-mail: n.schroeder@usciences.edu

Sanchita Sen
PharmD (Temple University)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7216
E-mail: s.sen@usciences.edu

Gary Sloskey
BS, PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Associate Professor of Pharmacy  
Phone: 215.596.8749
E-mail: g.sloske@usciences.edu

Jennifer Smith
PharmD (University of Pittsburgh)
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.546.7209
E-mail: j.smith@usciences@edu

Karen J. Tietze
BS (University of Kansas); PharmD (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8854
E-mail: k.tietze@usciences.edu

Daniel Ventricelli
PharmD (University of Connecticut)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
E-mail: d.ventricelli@usciences.edu

Laura H. Waite
PharmD (University of Texas, Austin)
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Vice Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacy Administration
Phone: 215.596.8751
E-mail: l.waite@usciences.edu

Jason Zupec​
PharmD (University of Cincinnati) 
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.7150
E-mail: j.zupec@usciences.edu

Experiential Supervisors

Kristin Motley​
Experiential Education Compliance Coordinator and Field Supervisor
Phone: 215.596.8986
E-mail: k.motley@usciences.edu

Sondra Schultz
Experiential Field Supervisor
Phone: 215.596.8884
E-mail: s.schultz@usciences.edu

Michael Thomson​
Experiential Field Supervisor
Phone: 215.596.8874
E-mail: m.thomson@usciences.edu

Return to Philadelphia College of Pharmacy Return to: Philadelphia College of Pharmacy