May 22, 2022  
2018-2019 University Catalog 
2018-2019 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Click on a link to be taken to the entry below.

Board of Trustees


Marvin Samson, BS, HonAlm, HonDSc
Chair of the Board
Samson Medical Technologies, LLC

Kenneth L. Murtha, BS
Vice Chair of the Board

Richard Howard, BS
Treasurer of the Board 

Siobhan Duffy P’84 BW’05
Risk Management and Drug Safety Specialist 
Mayne Pharma

John M. Daly, MD
Dean Emeritus, Harry C. Donahoo Professor of Surgery
Temple University School of Medicine 

Michael C. Hemsley, Esq. BS, MA, JD
Deputy General Counsel and Assistant Corporate Secretary
Trinity Health 

Carla Hendricks, CPA
Director Tax Planning 
NewsCorp/Dow Jones 

Rose Mary B. Hoy, RPh

Leonard S. Jacob, MD, PhD
Antares Pharma, Inc.

Rev. Cedric H. Jones, Jr., MBA, MDiv, DMin, PhD
Senior Pastor
Mount Zion Baptist Church

Robin Keyack, BSc, RPh
Assistant Vice President, Surgical Services & Clinical Information 
Shore Medical Center

Lucy Malmberg, RPh
Chief Executive Officer
Wedgewood Village Pharmacy, Inc.

Mark Oley, BS
CEO/President & Founder
Westwood Pharmacy

Donald J. M. Phillips, BSC, PharmD, FCPP

James J. Rivard P’81, MBA
Senior Vice President, Support Services
Virtua Health

Michael J. Sofia, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer
Arbutus Biopharma, Inc.

Secretary and General Counsel


Odessa P. Jackson, JD 
Chief Compliance Officer 

Officers of the Corporation


Paul Katz, MD

Peter Miller, PhD
Vice President, Academic Affairs

Robert M. Rudd, MA
Vice President, Institutional Advancement

Patricia Vanston, EdD
Vice President, Business Development and Enrollment Management

Valerie Weil, MD, FACP
Chief Financial and Operating Officer

David L. Forde, Esq.  
Vice President, Community & Government Affairs

Office of the President


Paul Katz, MD 

Beth Pilipzeck
Executive Assistant to the President

Academic Affairs


Peter Miller, PhD, PT
Vice President, Academic Affairs

John E. Connors, PharmD
Associate Provost, Academic Affairs 

Carolyn Giordano
Associate Provost, Institutional Effectiveness

Jean-Francois Jasmin, PhD
Associate Provost, Research and Graduate Education  

Elizabeth Speakman
Associate Provost, Inter-professional Education

Andrew Armitage, EdD
Assistant Provost, Administration

Phyllis Blumberg, PhD
Assistant Provost, Faculty Development
Director, Teaching and Learning Center

Misher College of Arts and Sciences


Suzanne K. Murphy, PhD
Dean, Misher College of Arts and Sciences

Laura Pontiggia, PhD
Associate Dean, Misher College of Arts and Sciences

Kevin C. Wolbach, MS
Assistant Dean, Misher College of Arts and Sciences
Director, Destination: Success

Elia V. Eschenazi, PhD
Chair, Department of Mathematics, Physics, and Statistics

Elizabeth Amy Janke, PhD
Chair, Department of Behavioral and Social Sciences
Director, Health Psychology Graduate Program

Kevin Murphy, PhD
Chair, Department of Humanities

Charles Myers, MA, MLS
Chair, Department of Information Science
Director, Library and Information Services

Vojislava Pophristic, PhD
Chair, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

Shivendra Sahi, PhD
Chair, Department of Biological Sciences

Samson College of Health Sciences


Michelle E. Cohen, PhD
Dean, Samson College of Health Sciences

Carol A. Maritz, EdD, PT, GCS
Associate Dean, Samson College of Health Sciences

Wendy W. Walsh, PhD
Interim Chair, Department of Occupational Therapy
Director, Doctor of Occupational Therapy Program 

Lora Packel, MSPT, PhD
Chair, Department of Physical Therapy 

Karin Richards, PhD
Chair, Department of Kinesiology

Joan F. Ward, MS
Chair, Department of Physician Assistant Studies

Philadelphia College of Pharmacy


Edward Foote, PharmD​
Dean, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy 

Laura A. Mandos, BS, PharmD, BCPP
Associate Dean, Student Affairs and Admissions
Director, BS Pharmaceutical and Healthcare Studies Program

Cathy Y. Poon, PharmD
Associate, Dean, Interprofessional Education 
Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacy Administration
Interim Director, Pharmacy Administration Graduate Program 

Patricia R. Audet, PharmD​
Chair, Department of 

Peter J. Harvison, PhD​
Chair, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Suzanne Carbonaro
Director, Assessment 

Student Affairs


Ross Radish, JD
Dean, Students

Mark Bullock, JD
Associate Dean, Students

Heidi Freeman, PhD​
Assistant Dean, Students

Marc Caserio, EdD
Director, Athletics

Business Development and Enrollment Management 


Patricia Vanston, EdD
Vice President, Business Development and Enrollment Management

Augustine DiStefano, Jr., BS
Executive Director, Admissions, Enrollment Operations and Analytics

Michael Schwartzman, MBA
Executive Director, Marketing and Communications

Angela Buchanico, BFA
Director, Marketing

Director, Communications

Pamela Ramanathan
Director, Financial Aid 



Therese M. Anderson, MS

Finance and Administration 


Valerie Weil, MD, FACP        
Chief Financial and Operating Officer 

Brigid K. Isackman, MBA
Associate Vice President, Finance and Controller

Martin B. Beckerman, BS
Director, Student Accounting Services

Vincent Horn
Director, Purchasing and Auxiliary Services 

Michael Janes, MS
Director, Human Resources

Anne McMahon, BA
Director, Budget and Risk Management

Director, Facilities

Renee Siegel 
Director, Environmental Health and Radiation Safety 

Michael Stitley 
Director, Public Safety and Security

Institutional Advancement


Robert M. Rudd, MA
Vice President, Institutional Advancement

Kim Barkhamer
Senior Director, Development

Rebecca Powers
Director, Corporate and Foundation Relations 

Michelle Albert
Director, University Events

Casey Evans
Director, Alumni Relations

Technology Operations 


Mark H. Nestor, EdD
Associate Vice President and Chief Information Officer

John Masciantonio, BS
Executive Director, Information Technology

Rodney Murray, PhD
Executive Director, Academic Technology