Nov 25, 2020  
2013-2014 University Catalog 
    
2013-2014 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Pharmaceutical Sciences


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Philadelphia College of Pharmacy

Mission

The mission of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences is to educate professional, undergraduate, and graduate students in the sciences of medicinal chemistry, pharmaceutics, pharmacology, physiology, and toxicology and to conduct research in these disciplines.

Vision

The vision of the department is to engage students in a challenging and thorough educational experience in the pharmaceutical sciences through classroom and laboratory instruction and independent, directed scientific research. We strive to provide our students with a foundation of specialized knowledge, skills, attitudes, and opportunities to achieve a high degree of accomplishment and leadership.

Overview

The Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences offers two undergraduate degrees, the BS in pharmacology/toxicology, and the BS in pharmaceutical sciences. It also offers graduate programs (MS and PhD) in pharmaceutics, pharmacology/toxicology, and industrial pharmacy. For more information about its graduate programs, see the College of Graduate Studies  section of this catalog.

Faculty

Does not include adjunct faculty. A list is available from the department chair.

Marvin Schulte
BS (St. Johns, MN); MS, PhD (University of Minnesota)
Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Chair, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Phone: 215.596.8903
E-mail: m.schulte@usciences.edu

Adeboye Adejare
BS, MS (Iowa); PhD (Ohio State) 
Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Phone: 215.596.8944
E-mail: a.adejar@usciences.edu

Bin Chen
BS, MS (Nanjing, China); PhD (Catholic University, Leuven, Belgium)
Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Director, Graduate Program in Pharmacology and Toxicology
Phone: 215.596.7481
E-mail: b.chen@usciences.edu

Lisa E. Davis
BS (Arizona); PharmD (Kentucky)
Research Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Phone: 215.596.8831
E-mail: l.davis@usciences.edu

Anil P. D’mello
BPharm (Bombay); PhD (Pittsburgh)
Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Director, BS Program in Pharmaceutical Sciences
Phone: 215.596.8941
E-mail: a.dmello@usciences.edu

Pardeep K. Gupta
BPharm, MPharm (Panjab); MS (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science); PhD (Wisconsin)
Associate Professor of Pharmaceutics
Phone: 215.895.1141
E-mail: p.gupta@usciences.edu

Peter J. Harvison
BS (Carnegie Mellon); PhD (SUNY, Buffalo)
Abramson Chair of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Phone: 215.596.8979
E-mail: p.harvis@usciences.edu

S. (Kamal) Jonnalagadda
BPharm (Birla, India); PhD (Nebraska)
Associate Professor of Pharmaceutics
Phone: 215.596.8942
E-mail: k.jonnal@usciences.edu

Prasad R. Joshi
MB, BS (Mumbai, India);
PhD (U Alaska)
Visiting Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
Phone: 215.596.7152
E-mail: p.joshi@usciences.edu

Zhiyu Li
BS (Nakai, China); MS (Science and Technology, China); PhD (Maryland)
Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Director, BS Program in Pharmacology and Toxicology
Phone: 215.596.8943
E-mail: zh.li@usciences.edu

Isabelle Mercier
BS, PhD (University of Montreal, Canada)
Research Assistant Professor
Phone: 215.596.7151
E-mail: i.mercier@usciences.edu

Catherine C. Moore
BA (Colgate); PhD (Pennsylvania)
Assistant Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Phone: 267.295.3180
E-mail: c.moore@usciences.edu

Jeffrey C. Moore
BS (Drexel)
Instructor in Pharmaceutics
Manager, Industrial Pharmacy Laboratory
Phone: 215.596.8987
E-mail: j.moore@usciences.edu

Diane W. Morel
BA (Rutgers); MS, PhD (Case Western Reserve)
Associate Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Assistant Dean, Curriculum, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy
Phone: 215.895.1123
E-mail: d.morel@usciences.edu

Steven H. Neau
BS, BA (Eastern Michigan University); MS, PhD (University of Michigan)
Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Director, Graduate Program in Pharmaceutics
Director, Industrial Pharmacy 
Phone: 215.596.8825
E-mail: s.neau@usciences.edu

Clyde M. Ofner III
BS, PhD (Temple)
Professor of Pharmaceutics
Phone: 215.596.8881
E-mail: c.ofner@usciences.edu

Raymond F. Orzechowski
BS (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science); MS, PhD (Temple)
Professor Emeritus of Pharmacology and Toxicology 

Elias W. Packman
BS, MS, DSc (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science)
Research Professor Emeritus of Pharmacology and Toxicology

G. Victor Rossi
BS, MS (Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science); PhD (Purdue)
Leonard and Madlyn Abramson Professor Emeritus of Pharmacology

Roger L. Schnaare
BS (St. Louis College of Pharmacy); MS, PhD (Purdue)
Professor Emeritus of Pharmacy

Edwin T. Sugita
BS, MS, PhD (Purdue)
Professor Emeritus of Pharmacy

Ruy Tchao
BS (Nottingham, England);
PhD (Manchester, England)
Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Phone: 215.596.8978
E-mail: r.tchao@usciences.edu

Shanaz M. Tejani-Butt
BS, MS (Bombay);
PhD (Medical College of Virginia)
Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Associate Dean, College of Graduate Studies
Phone: 215.596.8594
E-mail: s.tejani@usp.edu

Rodney J. Wigent
BS, MS, PhD (Michigan Tech)
Research Professor of Pharmaceutics
Dean, College of Graduate Studies
Phone: 215.596.8974
E-mail: r.wigent@usciences.edu

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Philadelphia College of Pharmacy